Christmas Countdown: Advent Activities

“It is good to be children sometimes, and never better than at Christmas, when its mighty founder was a child Himself.” ~Charles Dickens

Last year I made a small attempt at doing a Countdown to Christmas with Charlotte. This year I’m trying to put a little more thought and planning into it to make it work a little bit more effectively. I’m still planning on keeping it simple of course!

I got this idea from my friend Tara last year. She goes all out…rhymes written by an elf named Mabel, decorating t-shirts, and more. Since I know what I’m capable of, I’m sticking with having Charlotte open a door on our advent calendar each day and finding a slip of paper (probably hastily scribbled by me late the night before) with an activity or treat for the day.

As I said, I’m trying to plan ahead a bit more this year. Here are some of my ideas:
Decorate the Christmas Tree
Bake Christmas Cookies
Make a Christmas Card for someone-Send it to your sponsored child.
Nativity Set-I have a kid’s nativity set that I get out every year at Christmas for the kid’s to play with.

Sticker Books
Christmas Coloring Pages
Watch a Christmas Movie-to make it a little more exciting, I wrapped up all of our Christmas movies, and I’ll let her pick one. The one new one I did buy was Veggie Tale’s It’s a Meaningful Life

Read a Christmas Book-Some of our favorites are: Olivia Helps with Christmas by Ian Falconer and The Crippled Lamb by Max Lucado
Go for a drive and look at Christmas lights
Make a Gingerbread House (I bought a kit at Trader Joe’s)
Make Christmas Ornaments
Santa Lucia Day-This is a Swedish Holiday on December 13th that my mom is helping Charlotte with this year. The oldest daughter in the family dresses up in a white dress with a wreath of candles on her head and brings rolls to her family members in the morning.
City Snow/Tree Lighting
Festival of Lights at Wild Animal Park
Make a fire in the fireplace and enjoy some Apple Cider or Peppermint Hot Cocoa

Operation Christmas Child-have your child help pack a box for Operation Christmas Child, or do a virtual one online
Read the Christmas Story
Christmas Eve Gift
-Pajamas: I’m planning on giving each of the kid’s some new Christmas pajamas to wear on Christmas Eve.

Some of these can be used more than once (like the books and movies), and if you’re doing anything with family or friends such as attending a Christmas concert/play, a Christmas party, etc. you can use those as your activity for the day.

Since I work outside of the home two days a week, on those days, I’ll be sure to plan something easy, such as reading a Christmas book or watching a Christmas movie.

Here are some helpful links for Advent ideas:
Advent Activities: Making the Days Count at Simple Kids
Simple Advent Envelope Calendar
at Frugal Granola
Baby Steps for Celebrating Advent

Advent Family Fun

What fun Christmas activities and traditions do you do with your family?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Christmas Countdown: Advent Activities

  1. I always end up trying to do too much! I love the idea of hastily scribbling the night before, because it isnt usually until then that you know what you really have the capacity to accomplish the next day, right? I’m notorious for planning months ahead of time, then having to re-plan on a weekly & daily & hourly basis! LOL! :)

    I’m stopping by from No Time For Flash Card’s “Show Us your Best”. I hope you’ll do the same! You can see read my “best” @ http://sofiasideas.com/2010/11/27/shrink-that-growing-giant-2/

    Sofia’s Ideas

  2. Mindy says:

    Fun ideas! I’m stealing some for our December! I found this activity/craft/reading guide (http://www.hubbardscupboard.org/christmas.html) that is filled with lots of good ideas on teaching our young ones about Christ’s birth through the advent season. Also, check out Noel Piper’s book Treasuring God in Our Traditions for hands-on ways to help kids understand the significance of the nativity story and its bearing on our lives.

  3. oooh, great ideas krissa! thanks!

Leave a Reply

