My terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day.

I think I’ll move to Australia.

A recent favorite at our house has been Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day by Judith Viorst. I love that I remember reading this book when I was little and that Charlotte now loves me to read it to her.

The other day after spending way too long on the phone with customer service about health insurance, customer service about car insurance, and finally an upset parent of one of my students, I turned to Charlotte and told her, “Mommy is having a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day.” She immediately turned to me and said, “Did you get gum in your hair?” Luckily that’s one thing that hadn’t happened to me that day, but I loved that I was able to reference a book that we have been reading together and that she was then able to understand a little bit of what I was feeling. I think one of the things I enjoy about Alexander and the Terrible…Day, is that we are all able to relate to those kind of days. It also made me realize that maybe sometimes Charlotte’s having one of those days, but just doesn’t know quite how to verbalize it. Kids have bad days too…and it’s a good reminder for me.

Moving on…the day didn’t get much better for either one of us. We’ve been telling Charlotte for a long time now that as soon as she turns four, she’s done with using her pacifier (which she uses at naptime and at nighttime). I know, I know…you’re thinking “What’s an almost four year old doing using a pacifier still anyway?” I have no good answer for that. Anyway, two weeks before she turns four, she marches out of her room after naptime and says, “I’m throwing my pacifier away,” walks over to the trash can, and throws it in. I was a little shocked, but excited too, that she was so adamantly making this decision for herself.

Fast forward to bedtime…disaster. But I stuck with it and after a lot of kicking and screaming and begging and pleading, she finally gave up and fell asleep. So, both of us ended up having a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day. I guess some days are just like that.

This entry was posted in Time to Read and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day.

  1. Meggan Lambesis says:

    hmmmm….was this day worse than Mino’s birthday party? 😉

  2. oh charlotte, i love that you asked your mama if she got gum in her hair. that was so sweet that she got your reference and played along. good point that kids have bad days as well. thanks for posting this. and we feel your pain on the giving up of the pacifier. that was a long battle and i still feel like bedtimes were a breeze back then compared to now…sigh.

Leave a Reply

