Rain Gutter Bookshelves

I’m not a very creative person. That’s all there is to it. I wish I was creative, but I’m not. Even when I think I’m coming up with an original idea, it always turns out that someone else has already thought of it. (Like in Junior High when I “invented” shoes with sponges on the bottom for cleaning the floor and then found out Pippi Longstocking had the same invention!) So I steal other people’s good ideas.

I first heard about rain gutter bookshelves on Jim Trelease’s website. I loved the idea so did a Google search and found this tutorial.

I did come up with the fun idea of painting on them to spruce them up a bit…but not only am I not creative at all, but I am certainly not artistic. Good thing my talented grandma was in town for a visit. She painted some adorable flowers on the shelves and I think they turned out great!

A close up of the painting my grandma did on the bookshelves.

The idea behind the bookshelves is that children will be more apt to read books when they can see the covers (this is how bookstores get us to buy books-we see the cover and get interested).

I also plan on putting some in our playroom close to the ground, so my 10 month old can reach his board books and have easier access to them.

I really just followed the tutorial…my main tip is to have them cut the rain gutter for you at Lowe’s or Home Depot. They are 10 feet long and I had them cut down to 5 feet. It made it much easier to transport and then I didn’t have to cut them down myself at home! My cost for all the supplies (enough for four 5 foot bookshelves) was around $60.

This post is part of the Mom’s 30-minute Blog Challenge on Steady Mom.


This entry was posted in Simple Creations. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Rain Gutter Bookshelves

  1. i LOVE these! you ARE creative!

  2. Clare says:

    Don’t think that you are not creative! That is all a state of mind- besides it was creative to think of painting them-even if you didn’t do it yourself. Just be proud that you did it and you are pleased with the results. That’s the important part right? I am all for idea stealing! All my best ideas were once someone else’s.:) Besides, there is nothing new under the sun…

  3. So adorable! I have got to do something like this for my kids. We have so many books that we never read!

    a

  4. Meggan Lambesis says:

    Looks awesome! I love the idea of the book covers showing too.

  5. i’m with the others- you are creative. these are fantastic. and i love your grandma’s sweet flower paintings on them! what a personal touch that charlotte will cherish.

  6. Pingback: An interview with my Grandma… | More Than Mundane

  7. Pingback: Make Reading Fun with Rain Gutter Bookshelves | World Wide Articles

  8. Love the idea – I found your blog when trying to design some for our playroom. Did you have to use any special type of paint when decorating the gutters? We wanted to paint some designs on ours but want to make sure it doesn’t chip off.

  9. Ever since then, Kitchen – Aid mixers have been the gold
    standard in home mixers. It comes with a huge 9 cup work bowl,
    and is ideal for combining a great deal of ingredients at once.
    One of the best kitchen machines invented since the toaster, the stand mixer has become a standard in every cook’s kitchen.

Leave a Reply

