Have a New Kid by Friday

I recently finished reading Have a New Kid by Friday by Dr. Kevin Leman. All in all, I enjoyed this book and thought it had some very helpful parenting/discipline techniques. The one thing I really didn’t like is the title. I felt like I didn’t even want to say it aloud if my daughter was standing nearby and I was trying to talk to a friend about the book. I didn’t want her to think I wanted a new kid!

Other than that, the book basically goes from Monday through Friday with practical action steps to change your children’s attitude, behavior, and character. I’m not going to go into specifics here, but if you’re interested in getting some great summaries of each day, check out these posts over at impressyourkids.org.

The most useful part of the book for me, however, is the last 100+ pages. Dr. Leman goes through over 100 different situations that parents have to deal with and gives practical advice. I think it’s a great reference to have on hand. Some of the topics I skipped right over for now, because they are more pertinent to teenagers and I have a preschooler and an infant. But there were lots of topics that pertained to things I’m dealing with right now such as Interruptions, Picky Eaters, Power Struggles, Sharing, and Talking Back. This is a book I will definitely be referencing for years to come.

This entry was posted in Time to Read and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Have a New Kid by Friday

  1. i need to read this book. but chances are, i won’t read it. maybe you can give me the best highlights on our next park date 🙂

  2. i love your book reviews! thank you. got anything in here about potty training? 😉

Leave a Reply

