Feeling Overwhelmed?

So…maybe it’s just me, but it seems like recently I just can’t catch up. I just want to finish one thing, but I have so much to do I don’t even know where to start. I do most of my work from home, which is a blessing, but is also quite a challenge with kids. I’ve had so many days where I just keep pushing through trying to get something accomplished, but I end up feeling frustrated, the kids are bored and feel ignored, and I feel like an unsuccessful mom AND unsuccessful at my career. So, I started to think about what I could do to avoid the frustration, get more done, and create a happier home environment for the kids. So, here are some of the things I do when things feel like they’re falling apart at the seams…

  • Step back and take a minute to focus on what’s really important. Yes, you need your job to pay the bills, etc, etc, but what is your main goal in life? If you have a Mission Statement, this is the time to stop and take a look at it.
  • Re-evaluate your expectations. This is a big one for me. I have so many goals and plans for each day, and then I get really frustrated when things are not panning out as I expected.
  • Create a short, manageable to-do list. Pick the 3 things that are most important, that you KNOW you will be able to get done and do those. Then, pick 3 more if there’s still time in the day.

Fountain pen laying on calendar book.

  • Take a break. Get out of the house. Take the kids to the park. I’m not saying give up on what you need to get done for the day, but just put it aside for an hour and get out. Go for a walk, read a book with the kids, build a castle with blocks. Give your kids some undivided attention and then get back to work later. You will benefit from the break, and so will the kids.
  • Focus on what you’ve already accomplished that day. Maybe you put a load of clothes in the wash. Maybe you got your daughter to preschool on-time. Maybe you sent an important email for work. It doesn’t matter if it’s big or small, when you take a minute to think about what you have done, it helps to make you feel like your day hasn’t been a complete and total waste. (And if you took a break and took the kids to the park or something similar, THAT can be one of your most important accomplishments of the day).

Forest in autumn

  • Relax. Take a minute to unwind. Take some deep breaths. Make yourself a cup of tea. Give yourself a quick 5 minute time out to close your eyes and slow down. I use essential oils to bring a sense of calm when I’m overwhelmed. Diffuse some stress reducing oils such as lavender, Serenity, or Balance; dab them on your neck, forehead, or wrists; or apply to the soles of your feet to promote relaxation and calm.

What works for you when you’re feeling overwhelmed? I need all the help I can get!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Feeling Overwhelmed?

  1. i love this post. i had a tough day and it is so hard to remember what is important. i have a to do list… who cares if i don’t cross off all the items? i like the point on re-evaluating expectations. i need to do this. and i need to make a cup of tea. thanks. this post was such a good reminder.

  2. great post, I use a lot of the same methods. right now I’m reading Leo Babuta’s The Power of Less in hopes to simplify more. 🙂

  3. kjeldy says:

    Thank Anj. I’m about to go make myself a cup of tea too! 🙂

  4. Andrea says:

    Loved it Krissa, I feel like I have to have a list of paper on my counter at all times so my “to-do’s” don’t get lost in my head…. I love crossing things off because so many of the things I do all day don’t seem “significant” but they really are ( I need to remind myself of that). I loved your ideas for using oils, do you do that often? I have some lavender… tell me more… I need to bring on the peace and calmness 🙂

  5. kjeldy says:

    Annie-I’ve recently started using oils for so many things as I’m trying to use more natural remedies in our home. I’ll email you with more specifics on what I use different oils for. And yes, it is hard to focus on all the things we do and realize those things are just as significant, if not more, than crossing things off of our to-do list. Thanks for your comment!

  6. kelley says:

    great tips! say, do you know where i can buy any of those great essential oils??? (wink wink.)

Leave a Reply

