Hold Them Close

As Isaac rapidly approaches his first birthday, I find I’m holding him a little closer than usual, not wanting to let go of my “baby”. It’s amazing how fast time goes.

I’m the type that is always trying to accomplish, trying to get another item checked off on my to-do list. I struggle with slowing down and just enjoying the moment I’m in, snuggling with my babies, dropping what I’m doing to pretend I’m on a camping trip with Charlotte.

But every time a birthday draws near, I start to realize how quickly they are growing up, and I slow down and hold them near.

This is what I want to be reminded to do on a constant basis, because what’s really important…cleaning the kitchen sink? Organizing the files on my computer? (Yes, I do this.) Getting through the latest book I’m reading? Checking my email?

No. What’s truly important to me when I stop and think about it, is slowing down and enjoying these fleeting moments I have with my sweet babies who will be grown up before I know it. Making the most of each moment. This is my struggle and desire.

Because I have such a hard time pausing and focusing on what really matters…

 

Photo credit: Anjuli Paschall

 

For further reading:

How To Find Diamonds at Summer Camp, While Doing Dishes or in the Middle of the Night

When Homemaking Gets In the Way of Mothering

Time Management for Busy Moms

Where is my Clone?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hold Them Close

  1. i know how to solve your problem. add ‘snuggle with my kids’ to the to-do-list.
    happy birthday issac! so glad you were a boy 🙂

  2. kelley says:

    awww, i love this post. so true. and the photos are beautiful. can’t believe your little man is 1!

  3. I’m the same way! Thanks for a good reminder. 🙂

  4. Debby Morey says:

    Happy Birthday Isaac! This post is sooo very true, Krissa. Thanks for sharing your babies with me. I love them and you. Mom

Leave a Reply

