Cooking Together…Homemade Pizza

For some reason, I’ve always been a bit intimidated by making my own pizza dough…but Kim’s choice for this week was just that, so I did it and….it wasn’t that hard! First, here’s the recipe:

Homemade Pizza

1 C Warm water (not boiling, 100-105 degrees, like from the tap)
1 pkg active dry yeast (fast rising)
1 t sugar
1 t salt
2 T vegetable oil
2 1/2 C all purpose flour

Add yeast to water, let dissolve most of the way, add following ingredients. Stir together (you may need to add extra flour so it doesn’t stick to your hands). Flour flat surface and roll out dough. Put on pizza stone and spread 4 T pasta sauce over dough. Add favorite toppings and cover with shredded mozzarella cheese and Parmesan. Bake at 425 for 15-18 min (until crust is golden brown). This dough recipe is from the OLD Betty Crocker cookbook.

And here is my analysis:

Ease of preparation: This wasn’t as hard to make as I anticipated…I’ve just always been intimidated by the thought of making my own pizza dough, but now that I’ve done it, I feel much more confident. I CAN do it! 🙂 It didn’t really add too much time on as compared to buying dough from Trader Joe’s, which is what we usually do.

Here's my dough all rolled out and ready for toppings.

Overall opinion: Overall, we thought it was pretty good, but I think I prefer the dough we buy at Trader Joe’s.

Husband thoughts: He liked it, but would like me to try it with white four. (I used wheat). He prefers the Trader Joe’s Herb Pizza Dough.

Would you have it again: I promised him I would make it again, and try white flour.

Did you omit anything? No, just swapped out the white flour for whole wheat.

Did you add anything? No.

How did you serve it? I sauteed some green bell pepper and red onion for our toppings, along with artichoke hearts. We topped with mozzarella and also added a little goat cheese. We used Trader Joe’s pizza sauce.

The red onions and bell pepper.

Would you change anything next time: I will try it with white flour, per Rick’s request…and after that, I think I’ll stick to buying my dough…although this is a good backup for if you don’t have any pre-made dough on hand.

The pizza ready to bake.

General Comments: We always enjoy making pizza and I had a lot of fun making my own dough. I felt really proud of myself, and was amazed at how much easier it was than I thought it would be.

Questions: (My questions for Kim) Did you use a mixer to mix the dough, or just stir it with a spoon by hand? Do you have to let the dough rise?

Coming up next…Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup from Healthy and Easy Recipes. Try it with me!






This entry was posted in In the Kitchen and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

