Cooking Together…Chicken Noodle Soup

I got this recipe from my friend’s blog Healthy and Easy Recipes, where I get so many of my favorite recipes. Be sure to check her blog out for some more easy and delicious ideas to bring to your table. Some of my favorites are: Shredded BBQ Chicken Sandwiches, Pesto Sauce, Spanish Potato Omelet, Banana Bread, Bean Tacos, Spicy Eggplant and Apple Crisp. On to this week’s recipe…

Photo Credit: Healthy and Easy Recipes

Chicken Noodle Soup:

Ingredients:
2 quarts chicken broth
1.5 cups chicken (I prefer shredded)
2 celery stalks, chopped
3 carrots, chopped
1 onion, chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 tsp dried thyme
8 oz noodles (I use brown rice noodles)
1 TBSP fresh parsley, chopped
** a handful of fresh spinach for some extra greens 🙂
Directions:
So, in your large soup pot, drizzle some Grape Seed Oil, garlic, and your celery, carrots, onion, thyme and S & P and let it saute for 5 minutes. Then add your chicken broth, noodles and let them cook for 5 minutes. Lastly, add your cooked chicken and parsley (and spinach if you want) and let it simmer for another 5- 10.

Ease of preparation: This was so easy to make. I made chicken in the crock pot, shredded it and from there you just pretty much add everything in and shortly after you have your soup!

Overall opinion: I really liked this soup….it was easy, quick, and tasted delicious!

Husband thoughts: My husband wasn’t as much of a fan…I think he wanted a little more flavor, so next time I make it I’ll turn up the flavor for him.

Would you have it again: Yes, we’ll definitely have this again. It’s so easy and so good!

Did you omit anything? We didn’t use the spinach or parsley, just because I didn’t have it on hand…but I think I’ll definitely add some parsley in next time and spinach if we have it.

Did you add anything? Not this time, but I’m brainstorming on some ideas for next time. Probably more garlic, and I’ll definitely use the parsley next time as well.

How did you serve it? The first night we had it as a side dish with sandwiches. Then we froze the rest and had it for dinner the following week, just on it’s own. But I’m sure it would be delicious with some crusty bread, or crackers.

Would you change anything next time: Just going to turn up the volume a bit next time.

General Comments: I really am glad to have this recipe in my recipe box, I think it will be one we use for years to come, especially as the kids get older. A great one for a cold day, or when you’re feeling a bit under the weather.

Questions: The first time I made it I wasn’t sure if I should throw in the pasta cooked or uncooked, so I took a gamble and put it in uncooked, which turned out to be a good choice!

Now it’s your turn! Send me a recipe to try….or try this one and let me know what you think by leaving a comment below.






This entry was posted in In the Kitchen and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cooking Together…Chicken Noodle Soup

  1. We had it last night and it was delicious- the whole family loved it. I used the recipe as is, except for shallots instead of onion (that’s what I had on hand). The parsley and spinach were a nice touch!

  2. kjeldy says:

    Nicole…so glad you liked it! I’m definitely going to add in the parsley and spinach next time too…

Leave a Reply

