New Year’s Goals and Resolutions

Footsteps In The Sand

Photo Credit: MTSPhoto

Who says you have to start your New Year’s Resolutions on January 1st anyway? We are in the midst of getting settled in our new home…moving day was December 31st, so I didn’t exactly get a chance to think about my goals for the new year yet. Our plan is to sit down and write a family mission statement (or if you want to do a motherhood mission statement, check out Inspired to Action) for the year when we take a weekend overnight trip later this month. We’ll use that mission statement to make more specific goals for the year. In the meantime, I thought I’d share some links to posts and resources that I am planning to use when we do our goals for this year. If you’re getting a late start like I am, check out all the great resources below:

111 New Years Resolutions… :: Success Your Way **I loved this list, which included links to useful tools to help with each resolution. If you’re struggling to come up with your own goals and resolutions, this is a great place to start.**

Setting Reachable Goals :: Simple Mom **This post has a great list of questions available as a PDF to get you started with setting goals. This is one thing we plan on talking through to come up with our goals this year.**

12 Words on Selecting Goals for the New Year :: Inspired to Action **Read this one. It’s only 12 words long.**

Marriage
Resolutions for Romance :: Simple Marriage **I like the idea of having specific goals for our marriage, and this post has some good ideas for marriage goals, as well as good tips for setting goals in general.**

Green Goals
Green Goals Part I and Part II :: Simple Organic **Part I gives ideas for setting green goals in your personal life and Part II has ideas for green goals in your home life. I can get a little overwhelmed with all the changes I want to make, but I’m trying to focus on just one change at a time. So, pick one thing off the list and do that until it becomes second nature, and then add something else. Another idea I read recently is bringing your own take out containers when you go out to eat. So every time you have leftovers you can just use your own containers from home to take them home. This might be the one I focus on next because I hate all the bulky take home containers I end up with.

Setting Green Goals for the New Year :: Green…Your Way

And finally, if setting resolutions and goals isn’t your thing, maybe consider choosing a purposeful word for the year. Simplicity. Gratitude. Joy.

Just throwing a few out there. What are your goals or resolutions for 2o11?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Year’s Goals and Resolutions

  1. kelley says:

    oh, resolutions. this year, one of mine is to cook more- and to cook healthy. gonna follow your blog more closely!!!

Leave a Reply

